After Android: Going back to Symbian

After months of tinkering Android, I made it back to Symbian. But one would ask why?

  • First of all my HTC Butterfly S is dead. Yep. Dead. I dropped it accidentally on the beach and watched it die agonizingly for 6 hours. It did not die after I dropped it on the water, it died after 6 hours.
  • Second, I do not have any Android phone left and I could not buy another one anytime sooner. As much as I want to buy an Android phone, I can’t. I am short of funds (because I wanted an Android phone which is capable on camera, battery, storage and multimedia *HTC Butterfly S*).

So after spending some time on Android, here are my thoughts:

  • Owning a somewhat rare phone won’t give you early access to popular games. Yep. This is specially true with Asphalt 8: Airborne where I waited for months and made emailing Gameloft as a hobby before it became available to my phone. It kinda sucks waiting specially when you know that your phone has a “very” capable hardware for the game.
  • Android is somewhat sluggish. Well I did not experience sluggishness on my HTC Butterfly S (even though I have 2GB free on mass memory and 800mb free on my 64GB external card). I think this due to the fact that Android runs on top of Linux (see here and here) and is not native (not mentioning that it also uses a virtual machine for apps just like java – see here). I noticed this first hand when I am comparing my phone’s performance to Symbian and iOS. On Symbian (Nokia 808 Pureview), I was able to fire up everything and navigate pretty much faster (no theme effects) compare to Android. The case is also the same with iOS but this time when I played Asphalt 8 on it. It seems like iOS is somewhat faster and has the lesser plasticky feel when it comes to the graphics performance since I noticed some frame rate difference between iOS (iPhone 5) and Android (HTC Butterfly S) while playing Asphalt 8. My guess it that this is due to the inherent limitations of Java in which it uses a virtual machine first (and others) unlike in C or C++ wherein the code is converted to machine code without going to virtual machine first. You can see this article for more information. 🙂
  • Android is prone to storage fill up. After I have finished getting most of the essential apps and games that matters most, I tried to use the device casually. However after some time, my Butterfly S is prompting me that I do not have enough space left. I checked my storage device details and to my surprise I only have 800mb free on my mass memory. This was weird because I did leave 2gb or so free space on my mass memory after I have installed practically everything on my device. So what was the culprit? Turns out there are some unused cache and ads that is eating my free space. This is generally the case with most of the apps. They make cache and do not clean even after you have uninstalled them it which is kinda bad if you are struggling for free space.

So far, these are my major observations with Android. I will continue to improve this post but of course after I get my next Android phone.

References:

https://www.java.net//forum/topic/jdk/java-se/c-faster-java-and-language-really-language-without-its-legacy

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Java_and_C++

stackoverflow.com/questions/1636901/can-linux-apps-be-run-in-android

http://www.androidcentral.com/ask-ac-android-linux

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dalvik_%28software%29

 

Care to comment?

