Developing on Linux (Linux Mint XFCE): Compiling on Geany (C++)

Geany
Geany: A lightweight IDE

I usually use Codeblocks on my Windows partition for developing purposes. However, I noticed that most of the distros out there uses Geany as their preinstalled IDE. Since I haven’t heard of Geany yet, I fired up my Software Manager on Linux Mint and installed Geany (4 star rating with 242 reviews) on my machine.

After installing it, I pasted a C++ code and tried to build and run it. To my surprise though, it could not compile the code and is asking me for g++. So I went out for a Google search and found that it (Geany) does not have a compiler built in. However, you can actually install g++ from the repositories via Software Manager or Terminal to make Geany compile and run the code!

GeanyG++ And since Geany is a lightweight IDE, I think I will ditch Codeblocks on Linux from now on.

Care to comment?

