From Tumbling Tumblr to WordPress

Image from http://danielposavac.com

Its been a while since Yahoo! decided to buy Tumblr. I do not really know why some people gave a fuss about that acquisition; well not until I found out what other people (bloggers) think about the said acquisition.

Last night, I tried to open my girlfriend’s computer. Knowing her, she would just leave the computer turned on overnight and doing nothing but crunching that ribbony screensaver. As I moved the mouse, life was given to the dead screen of the computer. To my surprise, the browser was on a wordpress blog – her blog. Then, a thought came to me. Maybe its time to revisit things about Blogger vs WordPress vs Tumblr. Is this a sign? Maybe or maybe not.

After digging the world wide web regarding some facts and opinions (most of the time pages points to the acquisition of Tumblr by Yahoo!) about WordPress vs Tumblr, I came to realize that users are moving to WordPress since the great buyout of Yahoo! Equipped with this new knowledge, I tried to dig deeper why is this happening. Turns out, Yahoo! do have a track of record in ruining internet services. Remember the bookmarking site del.icio.us (Am I right? Forgive me if I got the name wrong) and the epic web hosting site Geocities? Well, look at them now.

With that in mind, I do not know what is in for the future of Tumblr itself. Maybe its going to change, maybe its going to be toned down (too much pron?), or maybe, Yahoo! is going to behead this amazing creature. I think its time for me to move on to WordPress. Now, I need to revive my blogs on WordPress. Good thing they are still alive.

Are you moving too? Share your thoughts below. 🙂

Care to comment?

